Saskatchewan Polytechnic nominated incredible donors and organizations for their generosity and support during National Philanthropy Day Awards

November 2023

The Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) – South Saskatchewan Chapter and the Saskatoon Chapter recognized outstanding philanthropic contributions of charities, organizations and citizens in celebration of National Philanthropy Day. Both chapters of the AFP hosted recognition awards luncheons in Saskatoon and Regina.

National Philanthropy Day is officially recognized in Canada on November 15th, and is celebrated by government leaders, fundraisers, businesses, individuals and community groups.

Saskatchewan Polytechnic nominated several recipients for the 2023 National Philanthropy Day Awards. Congratulations and a huge thank you to this year’s award recipients.

AFP – Saskatoon Chapter

Honoured Supporters Award – Orano Canada

Orano Canada, headquartered in Saskatoon, SK, has been a leader in the exploration, mining, and production of Canadian uranium for over 55 years. Orano Canada is a subsidiary of the French nuclear energy company Orano Group.

In early 2023, Orano invested $1M to increase enrolment and supports for women in trades and technology at Saskatchewan Polytechnic (WITT powered by Orano).

AFP – South Saskatchewan Chapter

Community Award – Regina Grey Nuns Nursing Alumni

In 1907 the Grey Nuns established the first hospital in Regina. The Pasqua Hospital, formally known as the Grey Nuns' Hospital, started out small (with 50 hospital beds). By its 60th anniversary, capacity reached 520 hospital beds and employed 1076 staff, including nursing students.

The Regina Grey Nuns Nurses Alumni have just begun a relationship with Saskatchewan Polytechnic. They started a student award with $10,000 this year for our nursing students and will continue to support them into the future.

Corporate Award – Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association (SUMA)

In 1906, the Union of Saskatchewan Municipalities (the name would later change to SUMA) held their first convention. SUMA represents the interests of municipal governments on policy and program matters within provincial jurisdiction.

SUMA gave $250,000 to develop the municipal administration specialty for the business diploma program at Saskatchewan Polytechnic in May 2023. SUMA also established the Laurent Mougeot Memorial Award this year. The endowed award continues to grow with over $40,000 raised to support municipal administration students for years to come.

Legacy Award – Estate of Margaret and James Scott

Saskatchewan Polytechnic’s Moose Jaw campus received new cutting-edge training equipment, and two new student awards, thanks to the generosity of the late Margaret and James (Jim) Scott. Over $200,000 donated was earmarked for the new PLC lab and endowed and annual student awards. It’s a fitting donation on the couple’s behalf, given that Jim worked as an electrician and instrumentation technician throughout his career, Margaret was a school teacher and their home was two houses west of the Moose Jaw campus.